After you log in into Jupyterhub you will need to start a session. We provide two different option forms to customize your session:
preset: the most important Slurm and notebook settings already set
advanced: this is especially for advanced users with a certain knowledge of Mistral and Slurm configuration
We also provide a Jupyterhub service to check your accounts/projects. Just click on services –> accounts and a list of your accounts is displayed.
If you choose the preset form, you only need to select the profile that best fits your requirements.
Slurm parameters are already set, e.g. memory, number of cores and the partition.
The advanced options form is for advanced users with a minimal understanding of Slurm parameters.
Furthermore, it provides an additional level of dynamicity for:
setting accounts and partitions (drop menu)
choosing between notebook interfaces (notebook, lab or terminal)
Project that should be charged
Partition to run the job
Resources reserved for certain time/accounts
No (Default: 1 Hour)
The maximum amount of time your job can take before Slurm forcefully kills it.
Number of cores
No (Default: 1 core)
Number of threads (logical cores) per task.
No (Default: 1024 MB)
The total amount of RAM to allocate.
Quality of Service often puts the job in high priority queue (e.g. training).
Log File Name
No (Default: jupyterhub_slurmspawner_advanced)
Node-features requested for the job.
No (Default: notebook)
Most of the issues when using the advanced options form are due to non valid Slurm options. Please check this link first to have an overview of the Mistral configuration, so you can pick up the correct settings for your session.
For both preset and advanced, the form options are stored every 10s and are not lost when you close/stop your notebook.
This is a nice feature especially for the advanced options where there are many inputs. You can also reset the form to the initial state.
This feature is based on the browser’s storage. If you delete the cache, the options are also deleted.